Cub Scouts (8-11 Years)

Cub Scouts
Boys & Girls 8-11 Years
Meeting times:
Cubs 1 8-11 years Monday 7pm-8.30pm
Cubs 2 8-11 years Wednesday 7pm-8.30pm

Positive Development! The Cub Scout program is specifically designed to meet the developmental needs of 8 to 10 year old children. It provides opportunities for young people to develop and grow as individuals and as members of a team. Cub Scout activities are planned to cover a broad range of interests and topics to trigger their imagination and curiosity.

As a member of a ‘Six’ you and your Pack will work together to explore the world. Your Cub Scout Leader will help you along the way and encourage you to participate in Scouting activities. You’ll learn life-long skills, participate in the Cub Scout’s Award Scheme, earn badges, make friends and have fun!

Cub Scouts activities include:

★ Organising and playing team games
★ Learn practical skills like knots and construction
★ Going on Outings and Nature Trails
★ Orienteer and learn to read maps and compasses
★ Short Camping Trips
★ Sporting activities
★ Air Activities
★ Water Activities and Water Safety

Cub Scout Motto
Do Your Best

Cub Scout Promise
On my honour
I promise that I will do my best
To do my duty to my God, and
To the Queen of Australia (or To Australia)
To help other people
To live by the Cub Scout Law

Cub Scout Law
Cub Scouts are loyal and obedient
Cub Scouts do not give in to themselves

*The commencement for advancement in Sections may vary up to 6 months.*

Cub Scouts may commence transition (Link Badge) any time after their 10th birthday and have progressed to Scouts by their 11th birthday. Extensions beyond age range may be granted in accordance with the Victorian Branch Scouting Instructions (VBSI) Section 2.1.12. Further information is available from our Group Leader.

Award Scheme
The major components of the Cub Scout Award Scheme are the Bronze, Silver and Gold Boomerang badges. To earn each of these badges, Cub Scouts must complete at least ten challenges under the guidance of Leaders.

Cub Scouts can set challenges for themselves to earn Achievement Badges from the areas of Arts and Literature, Nature, Science and Technology, Sports and Recreation, and Our World. There are also a number of Special Interest badges.

Grey Wolf Award: This is the pinnacle of achievement in the Cub Scout Section. To earn the Grey Wolf Award a Cub Scout must hold a Gold Boomerang badge, participate in a minimum of four outdoor activities and attend two Pack Councils in the previous 12 months, complete four Level 2 Achievement badges (one from each category) and one Special Interest badge, and develop and present a resource for the Six or Pack based on the Cub Scout’s understanding of The Jungle Book.

Detailed information regarding fees is provided on the Parent Information Page

Would you like to join us:

For enquiries about joining our Cub Scout Pack, becoming a Leader, joining the Committee, or other Sections of our Group, please contact us using the form provided.

New members are requested to E-mail our Group Leader prior to attending a meeting night.
To join the 1st Point Cook Scout Group, please E-mail our Group Leader